New Year, New Patterns

Last year, in 2013, I had a vision. It’s to develop my exclusive line of clothing, beginning with a few select items and sizes. The collection’s name is actually from a dream that I had.  I had a dream about a song, and the lyrics were clear as day. When I woke up, I sang the lyrics to my boyfriend, and he told me that it was a Bob Dylan song. Ironically, this song is actually a Civil Rights Anthem, and so it became so much to me.  Though I considered naming my collection after the song, it didn’t sound right, so it just became an inspiration. I’ll let you know what the name of my collection is as soon as my website is up and ready to go.

Patterned After PatternedAfter11

As of now, I finished my XS-S basic bodice and skirt patterns. A few skirts and tops are in the works, as well as accessories. To give an idea, my inspiration comes from music, and I’ve been admiring clothing designers such as Carven, Alice & Olivia and Opening Ceremony (more on the aesthetic of each brand, not the individual designs). I am also focusing on slow fashion, and exclusive designs (somewhat demi-couture), with prints sourced from amazing independent textile designers who are not seen in the mass. Every step is made with attention and detail.

It’s a world full of fast fashion, social media and big production. My collection is about slowing down and paying attention to the small things in life. This year, I intend to do just that.

Happy New Year to each and everyone of you. I hope that this is going to be your best year yet. xoxo

6 thoughts on “New Year, New Patterns

Leave a Reply

